By Steven G. Mehta

 

This is the one time of the year that the government officially allows us to be thankful for what we have.  I have, however, long believed that being thankful for what we have is a great thing to do all year long.  Indeed, I have created a gratitude log that I write in each evening to remember what I am thankful for.

I also came across an article that shows that being thankful is good for the health.  Here is a brief excerpt.

Does your hapiness depend on your circumstances—or your attitude? I’ve asked myself that question so many times that I could relate when Kate, a woman in her mid-40s who was talking to me for the first time, couldn’t figure out why she wasn’t happy. “I’ve got a great guy, I’ve just gotten engaged, and I am still not happy,” she said. “What’s wrong?” I suggested that she would feel much better if she developed an attitude of gratitude, the ability to focus on what’s good and right in life.

Try it yourself.
First, on a scale of one to ten, with one being blah and ten being the best you ever felt, give yourself a number. Next, write down or think about the things you’re grateful for. Now rate yourself again. Did your number go up, even a little?

At every moment (and particularly during the holidays), you have a choice to look at what’s right or wrong with yourself and your life. Gratitude is like a flashlight, shining on what’s good. When you turn it on, you feel happier, no matter what else is going on.

The great thing about the gratitude flashlight: It works no matter who you are—young or old, fat or thin, rich or poor, sick or well. All you need to do is turn it on.

6 ways to do gratitude

  1. At dinnertime, take a moment to say one thing you are thankful for. Be specific.
  2. Remember why you love your spouse, kids, and friends when they’re annoying or frustrating you.
  3. Don’t compare other people’s lives with yours. When you’re envious, ask yourself, “How can I create more in me of what I see in them?”
  4. Give thanks for your body. What can you appreciate about it right now?
  5. Look for the hidden blessings in challenges. How have you grown?
  6. Practice daily. Keep a gratitude journal and e-mail it to a gratitude partner, someone with whom you want to share positive thoughts.

To read the entire article, click here

 

This year, I am thankful for my friends, family, my life, and all the joy in the difficult and the easy days.  I wish you all a happy Thanksgiving. After all,

“Thanksgiving is therapy we all need to keep cognizant of the blessings and the beauty of living.” E.B. Powell

 

Happy Thanksgiving,

 

Steve